Wednesday Writerly Update #6

Good morning!

Just a short update today of my writing progress for Writerly Wednesdays, and an early post at that too because I have a pretty busy day today.

The Inception-meets-The-City-Trilogy NA speculative fiction novel is still in limbo, not quite ready for pre-publication but getting there. I got notes back from a lovely critique partner (check Jessica out! She has a novel coming out soon too, and it’s gonna ROCK!), and her notes have been very helpful.

I’ve started editing my YA horror novel. I’m 20%-ish through a second draft, but there’s a whole lot of work to go. There’s a bunch of plot holes/cliches in the second half of the novel that I need to get rid of, so I’m kind of dreading that. And even then, draft three is going to be just as trying: the tone of the novel isn’t right. I don’t know what will make it right just yet, but it’ll be a process.

OH, and remember that free write from last week? The speculative fiction novel with a Middle Eastern setting? Well, let’s just say it’s been plotted, and an additional 3000 words have been added. Still not sure how I feel about it, but it’s set to be a novelette (around 12,000 words), and there’s a publication I’ve been eyeing if finish the piece and deem it publish-worthy.

So, goals for next week: keep editing the YA horror and maybe even move on to draft three; finish Middle Eastern speculative fiction (I can dream, right?).

As for “The Black Oracle“, there isn’t a whole lot of news to report. I’m still working on some promotion and marketing efforts that will *hopefully* kick off in July. If you’ve read it, though, leave a review on Amazon or Goodreads. I’d love to know what you think!

Until next time!

5 responses to “Wednesday Writerly Update #6

  1. Great job plotting your novelette! The major edits are always the most daunting, but it sounds like you have a great plan of attack – best of luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really excited about that Middle Eastern story of yours. I’ve moved act one of my WIP from Atlanta to Tunisia and I can’t wait to write about the interesting new setting. Something about the desert and fantasy go really well together. It’s so “old world” and a lot of fantasy elements have an ancient feel to them.

    Good luck with your major project. Tone is a hard thing to get right. I’m still trying to settle on my own. But I think tone, like voice, has a way of working itself out. The way you tell the story will probably fit the story you’re trying to tell. If you try to think too hard about it, it might come off as contrived. The main thing is to keep the tone *consistent*. That’s kind of where I’m at right now. I have a tendency to insert camp at inopportune moments, but 98% of my novel is not campy and it campiness really doesn’t fit the story I’m telling.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right? That’s how I feel about the desert and fantasy, and the best part is that it’s relatively untouched ground 🙂 Tone is hard, I agree, but my issue now is giving pieces tones that are dissimilar from one another. I don’t want to write the same tone across all my novels.

      Like

  3. Awesome progress! That novelette sounds super interesting. I’m glad my feedback helped with SH! Have a good week 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

