Authors for Indies Day!

As some of you may or may not know, I am doing my very first promotional event for The Black Oracle two weeks from now. I am going to be at Roxanne’s Reflections Book and Card Shop in Fergus, Ontario on Saturday, May 2, 2015. The occasion? It’s Canadian Authors for Indies Day!

Look, Ma, I'm in the newspaper. #basicallyfamous

Look, Ma, I’m in the newspaper. #basicallyfamous

Authors all across Canada will be in independent bookstores on this day to volunteer and promote indie publishing and book selling. Why not volunteer at a chain bookstore? Independent bookstores offer a great alternative to mainstream, multi-location stores. They provide welcoming atmospheres, caring employees and owners, and best of all, they allow for a wider selection of books than other corporate giants. Independent bookstores are often the first to open their doors to independent authors — something that big chain booksellers make it hard to do unless you have a major publisher and distributor.

So, naturally, when my publisher Curiosity Quills Press suggested I team up with a bookstore for this awesome day, I jumped at the opportunity. Independent bookstores have been a huge part of my book-loving and writerly life. Since I was young, my parents have taken me to cottages every summer. We cottaged along the Trent River, on Lake Eugenia, and about five years ago, my parents fulfilled their dream of buying a cottage near Belwood Lake.

My favourite thing about cottaging is the lack of distractions. I could hang out on the patio for hours on end with very limited cellphone service, absolutely no internet, and a book in hand. The best part: I got to explore the towns nearby, ones with a good independent bookstore or two. When my parents settled near Belwood Lake, some of my favourite days were spent exploring Fergus. That’s when I discovered Roxanne’s.

Little did I know at the time, Roxanne’s Reflections is a community favourite. Roxanne and her staff are friendly and helpful, and always striving to find readers the perfect book. I’ll never forget when the film adaptation of The Great Gatsby came out a couple summers ago, I wandered into Roxanne’s looking for a copy. I’d read in in high school and hated it (I know: how silly of me!), but Roxanne had a huge selection of special edition copies, and I bought one and consumed its contents all in one day.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that independent bookstores like Roxanne’s Reflections really care. It’s easy to walk into a chain bookstore, get overwhelmed by the endless tables of supposed hot fiction, and then encounter a staff member who may not know Aldous Huxley if he walked in and smacked said employee in the face.

So, this May 2, head out to an independent bookstore and show your love even if you do not reside in Canada. If you’re in the Fergus area, drop by Roxanne’s between 1 pm and 3 pm. I’ll be there then, but it is an all day event. Otherwise, check out Authors for Indies website for a location near you. Who knows, you may just encounter Guy Gavriel Kay!

One response to “Authors for Indies Day!

  1. Pingback: Authors for Indies Day Recap | Michael Cristiano

Leave a Reply

