Three Writerly Goals for 2015

Well, hello there. How you doing? It’s been a long time… In fact, it’s been almost two and a half weeks since I posted any content. I know most bloggers will take a break over the holidays, but my break was rather unintentional. Besides all the craziness of Christmas celebrations, I got the flu… Oh, it was oodles of fun, let me tell you, bed-ridden for two full days and then too lethargic and fatigued to do ANYTHING. Needless to say, my goal of writing 20,000 words over my 16 day break from work isn’t going to happen. So, I’ve settled on 10,000 words instead and I’m a little more than halfway there. Now just to remain healthy…

Anyway, enough about me… Let’s talk about me! I’m normally a person who is very goal oriented so the new year is always awesome because I get to quantify my goals and track my progress. This year I’ve settled on three resolutions and *surprise, surprise*, they’re related to writing.

1325183965821_1911642

Publish The Black Oracle

Well, I guess I’m kind of cheating… The Black Oracle was picked up by Curiosity Quills Press in June of last year, but I can finally say that we are on the final stretch of seeing it in print! We’re currently finalizing the cover and we just set a release date (but, shhhh, I can’t say when just yet!)

The goal then is a successful release. I’ve been working on a marketing plan and I’m excited to begin. In fact, I think some things *may* be beginning within a month or so. So, stay tuned! And if anyone has any work coming out this year, whether traditionally published or otherwise, get at me. Let’s link up and have successful releases together!

Edit Next Published Novel and Finish Two Work-In-Progresses

Yes, I know… The Black Oracle ain’t even published yet and I have a second novel lined up and (almost) ready to be published. I spent the first six months of 2014 editing it and my goal for this year is to take another look at it, pump another 10,000 words into it and then get it ready to take on the world. It’s a new adult speculative fiction novel (think soft science fiction) and I am extremely excited to get the publishing process started.

Also, in my final post of 2013, I talked about how I was cheating on my first work-in-progress, an LGBTQ+ YA novel, with a second one that would end up being a YA horror/paranormal. Now I’ve got both manuscripts hovering around 15,000 words but I’ve decided I want to complete the first draft of the YA horror/paranormal first, hoping to have it finished around mid-February when I got to the Dominican Republic (wooo! Travel and sun!) As for the LGBTQ+ YA novel, I want to finish it over the summer. I started it last summer, it takes place in the summer, so maybe my lack of inspiration comes from the winter.

Blog More and Read More

I have been slacking so hard in these areas the past little while. Okay, maybe not as bad as my slacking in going to the gym… In any case, I want to blog more. Instead of only blogging four or five times a month, I want to try and blog twice a week. At first that’s daunting, but with an impending book release, that shouldn’t be hard. You like being spammed, right?

…I’m kidding. I won’t spam you.

And then there’s reading. I did so well in 2013. I FINALLY finished all the books on my bookshelf, a backlog of almost 40 titles, and only bought 2-3 new books at a time. And then in 2014, I relapsed and bought way too many books. My birthday and Christmas came and now I have a backlog again. What with being busy and sick I’ve managed to read 50 pages of A Clash of Kings since Christmas so I’ve read about 200 pages since the beginning of December (…yay.) So, catch up, Michael! Read all the books!

Got any resolutions, writing or otherwise?

One response to “Three Writerly Goals for 2015

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Writerly Update #1 (THE BLACK ORACLE Available for Pre-order!) | Michael Cristiano

Leave a Reply

