How I Kept the Fire Burning

This is a response to my previous blog post about getting in the mood.

Well, let’s just say I got in the mood. I tried to push myself to keep up with a manuscript that just wasn’t coming. I was getting frustrated and a tad depressed that I was making time for writing and then feeling like I was wasting it because nothing was coming out. And if I did write something, I didn’t like it. I just couldn’t get the mood right.

But then it hit me. I was in the shower one morning and I was tormenting over another writing “session” where I managed a whopping word count of 110 in three hours when I had a stroke of inspiration: a new story idea waltzed into my head. Angels starting singing and music started playing and I couldn’t get dressed fast enough so that I could get back to my damned laptop and write some of the stuff down.

So, humans of the planet Earth, I have a confess that I’m excited to share but I’m also a little ashamed of: I kept the fire burning by, in essence, having an affair. Yes, I have started a second manuscript: a young adult paranormal novel. Now, I know that is a touchy field. Young adult has been a little over-saturated lately and any mention of young adult paranormal automatically screams Twilight (bleh!) but I can assure you, I have something that I am happy with and I am excited to be writing it. In fact, I managed to hammer out a little over 8000 words in two weeks. How’s that for a fiery romance?!

2 hawt.

2 hawt.

Now, I have no intention of abandoning the first manuscript, partially because I have 15,000 words there and also because I really do like the story. But I’ll be honest, I’m okay to put it on the back burner for a bit and take a break while I work on something else. It’s not you, it’s me, right?

No, it really is me…

I am somewhat of a planner, and by that I mean that I do a lot of romanticizing about ideas before I get the chance to write them. Needless to say, this is the first time I’ve been so struck by an idea that I’m willing to abandon another one mid-first draft so I can work on it. And to be honest, I kind of like it. It’s a kind of exhilaration I’ve been missing in my writing lately because I haven’t given myself the freedom to just go with the flow and write what feels right to me at the moment. I guess the motto strike the iron while it’s hot has some merit to it after all, huh?

But there is one downside that I didn’t anticipate: the worry. Since I’ve now left one project to work on another, I essentially have two projects on the go. I guess my fear is that if this second manuscript fizzles out like the first one did, I have two work-in-progresses that are not completed. I understand the notion of going where the wind takes me, but I’m also paranoid I won’t get either of them done. Publishers work with full manuscripts after all.

But I guess I can relax: with The Black Oracle coming out next year and a second book (hopefully) to commence the publishing process soon after, having two projects that are not yet completed isn’t so bad. The publishing process has so far proved to be a long one (though, definitely enjoyable) so I guess I do have quite a bit of time.

Have you ever left one project unfinished to pursue another?

Leave a Reply

