Getting in the Mood

Excuse me for being a little forthcoming, but lately I’ve had a little trouble getting in the mood. I dim the lighting, put on the music, and get into something comfortable. I tidy the room and I make sure I’ve eaten (but not too much). If I really want to get into it, I may go for a glass of wine or two. I sometimes even even light a scented candle and disconnect my phone to maximize my focus.

Oh… no, that’s not what I meant. I’m talking about setting the mood for writing.

Getting in the mood, huh? Well, this is awkward...

Getting in the mood, huh? Well, this is awkward…

And in spite of all these aforementioned things, I’m having trouble. Legit. I get home from work or home from errands on the weekends and I’m just not in the mood. I sit myself down after dinner, open up the work-in-progress I’ve decided to focus on (I have two  manuscripts that are in a first draft stage and two in a revising/editing stage), and I just can’t do it. I just can’t.

If I try to write, it feels forced and unfocused. I’m lucky if I’m able to get down more than a couple hundred words at a time. If I try to revise or edit, it feels like everything I’m editing is crap and I should just toss it all and start over. I’m bitter and bored and the writing seems uninspired and bland. And it’s weird, I’ve never had that problem before. Sure, I go through ups and downs throughout the editing process, but I never reach a point where something feels hopeless or unsalvageable. And frankly, I know it’s not because when I’ve read through it before, I’ve had the complete opposite reaction.

And then it hits me: I’m having trouble getting in the mood in a much bigger sense. Sure, I’m able to set up my writing space for a couple hours devoted to writing, but I’m having trouble setting up my head space. I’ve recently started working full time and although I like it, it’s hard work and I come home tired and groggy and sometimes just downright grumpy. And even on weekends if I’m not grocery shopping, I’m getting car work done; if I’m not visiting family and friends, I’m running one of the 300 errands that I should have run last weekend (read: three weekends ago). And don’t even get me started on reading. I’m not gonna lie, I’m normally a slow reader, but hell, I’m like astronomically slow at this point.

So, that brings me to my present predicament: what should I do? I can’t quit my job. It’s a nice thought, but as a 20-something who JUST started working, I’m not quite at writing-as-a-full-time job just yet. I can’t ignore my relationships and groceries and errands either: I already tried and that resulted in having to replace my entire gas tank (if only I started taking that check engine light seriously!).

So, I guess it comes down to state of mind. I think I have to be a bit more focused and start making more time to write (and read). On the flip side, I think I have to remove some of the pressure and let myself just enjoy the process again. Writing shouldn’t be a chore but I have to admit that it’s starting to feel like one. Ultimately, I also think that I just have to go with the flow for a bit. I know this is a period of change for me, what with the new job and moving out and having my first novel published next year. Maybe I just need to step back and focus on letting the mood set me.

If that makes any sense…

Any thoughts? What do you do to get in the mood? 😉

3 responses to “Getting in the Mood

  1. When my writing feels forced, I find it best to take a break. The hard part is that I want to be in the mood, which causes me to try and force myself in the mood. Then, when it doesn’t work, I get aggravated and the writing turns even more unfocused. But as always, it comes back to me when I’m not expecting it.

    Nice way to start a post. I was a bit confused at first lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have experienced that feeling of writing every painstaking word and from my experience it is hard to fight. Let it go and do something for a few days and then try again. Writing against your mind’s tide is very unproductive.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: How I Kept the Fire Burning | Michael Cristiano

Leave a Reply

