Papina: Love, Drama, and Murder… Oh my!

PapinaBraydon Miller and her husband Forrest move to the small town of Papina to raise a family. And that is about the time when their picture-perfect life comes to an abrupt stop. Forrest goes missing and the only person who knows what happened to him is Nova, a troubled teenager from the native reserves. Except Nova is so traumatized that she won’t speak. When Braydon Miller takes the girl in, the rollercoaster begins, one fraught with love, heartache, betrayal, and enough twists and turns to last this sleepy town in the American Southwest a lifetime.

I can honestly say that I liked this release. I normally don’t read mystery or drama, but I was pretty intrigued by the plot and the characters of Papina. To me, Katie Hamstead did a lot more than create a who-dunnit novel – she explored what happens behind the scenes of a murder trial and detailed the drama that ensues. Papina is a town ridden with complex relationships, a complex history, and even more complex characters. Learning about these characters and their pasts was one of the best parts of Papina!

Right from the beginning, I was trying to figure out who the culprit was. Trust me, there are a lot of characters with motives and as the story developed, I was suspicious of every one of them at least once. Hamstead fleshes out each character and gives them an in-depth backstory, one that helps paint the picture of a small town where everyone knows everyone else’s business. More than once, I read something and was like “NO. WAY.”, and even the details revealed about the Braydon and her husband made me question what exactly was going on. Hamstead definitely has a knack for storytelling and for weaving complex, believable characters into her stories.

I’m not going to lie, I did find myself feeling like Papina was a tad fluffy in the beginning, but I’m happy to say I was wrong. I was a big fan of Hamstead’s inclusion of topics that were a little heavier. She touches on race and native issues, and also flirts with the domain of LGBTQ+, even if a little too briefly. One of my only criticisms was that I feel Hamstead glossed over these topics a little too much when she had a prime opportunity to explore them more deeply in this novel. But perhaps she’s waiting to do that in the other books in the series (yes, it’s a series 😉 ). Other than that, there were a few spelling mistakes that were a little distracting, but they did not take away from the meat of the story.

All in all, it was a good, light read, but also one that had its thrilling moments. And for all you mushy-folk out there, I’m not big on romance, but it was kinda steamy, okay?

You can purchase your copy of Papina here. You can check out Katie Hamstead’s blog here.

One response to “Papina: Love, Drama, and Murder… Oh my!

  1. Thank you so much! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

